Skip to main content

Delphi-Studie zur Zukunft der Energiesysteme in Deutschland, in Europa und in der Welt im Jahr 2040

»Es kommt nicht darauf an, die Zukunft vorauszusagen,
sondern darauf, auf die Zukunft vorbereitet zu sein.«

Perikles (um 500 – 429 v. Chr.), athenischer Politiker und Feldherr

»Prediction is very difficult, especially about the future.«
Niels Bohr (1885 – 1962), dänischer Physiker

Mission Statement

Mit der Studie Delphi Energy Future soll untersucht werden, wie sich die Energiesysteme in Deutschland, in Europa und in der Welt bis zum Jahr 2040 verändern werden. Ziel ist es, die aktuelle, insbesondere auch in Deutschland national geprägte Debatte um die Anpassung oder Neugestaltung der Energiesysteme aufzubrechen und aus globaler Sicht einen umfassenden Blick auf die Energiesysteme der Zukunft zu wagen.

Mit welchen Herausforderungen haben Energiesysteme in Zukunft zu rechnen? Wie können wir strategische Lösungen für Probleme entwickeln, die erst in den nächsten drei Jahrzehnten auftreten? Wie können wir antizipieren, was wir noch nicht wissen? Wohin verschiebt sich wirtschaftliches Wachstum und wie blicken heutige Akteure und Entscheider auf die Entwicklung der Energiesysteme?

Wir haben in zahlreichen Studien nur Teilantworten finden können: sektorale Untersuchungen einzelner Branchen, Staaten oder Ressourcen, die jedoch nicht in Zusammenhang gebracht werden. Wir haben uns das Ziel gesetzt, in unserer Zukunftsstudie Delphi Energy Future einen übergreifenden Ausblick zu wagen, Schnittstellen zu definieren und Wechselwirkungen zu untersuchen. Dabei fordern wir ebenso dazu auf, visionäre Ansätze, mutige Ideen zu formulieren und "out of the box" zu denken. Wir wollen mit dem Delphi "food for thoughts" und Anregungen liefern, das komplexe System der Energieversorgung weiterzudenken.

Die zentrale Fragestellung des Delphi Energy Future lautet also: Wie gestaltet sich die Energiezukunft in Deutschland, in Europa und in der Welt im Jahr 2040 und darüber hinaus?

Der Bundesverband der Energie- und Wasserwirtschaft e.V. (BDEW), die Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH und PricewaterhouseCoopers AG WPG (PwC) widmen sich gemeinsam diesem Zukunftsprojekt.

 

Podcasts

Hören Sie hier, was uns motiviert hat, dieses Projekt zu initiieren.

Skip to main content

Delphi-study on the future of energy systems in Germany, Europe and the world by the year 2040

Please find the complete results of Delphi Energy Future here:

Study Report
Download

‘It is not a matter of correctly predicting the future, but of being prepared for it.’
Pericles (ca. 500 – 429 BCE), Athenian politician and military commander

‘Prediction is very difficult, especially about the future.’
Niels Bohr (1885 – 1962), Danish physicist

Mission Statement

The Delphi Energy Future study aims to examine how energy systems will change in Germany, Europe and around the world by the year 2040. The goal is to break down the national parameters that currently shape the debate on adapting or redesigning energy systems, particularly in Germany, and to venture a comprehensive look at the energy systems of the future from a global standpoint.

What challenges are energy systems likely to face in the future? How can we design strategic solutions for problems that will only emerge as we progress through the next three decades? How can we anticipate what we do not know today? Where will the new centres of economic growth be, and how do today’s stakeholders and decision-makers see energy systems developing?

The many studies on this topic have not provided us with full answers: sectoral analyses have tended to view individual industries, states or resources in isolation. In our Delphi Energy Future study, we have set ourselves the target of taking a comprehensive view, identifying common ground and examining interdependencies. At the same time, our study is an invitation to formulate visionary approaches and bold ideas, and to think outside the box. We wish to offer food for thought and inspiration to visualise the future of the complex energy system as it might take shape tomorrow.

The core question posed in the Delphi Energy Future study is therefore: What future awaits the energy system in Germany, Europe and the world in the year 2040 and beyond?

This forward-looking project is a joint endeavour of the German Association of Energy and Water Industries (Bundesverband der Energie- und Wasserwirtschaft – BDEW), the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Internationale Zusammenarbeit (GIZ) GmbH and PriceWaterhouseCoopers AG (PwC).

 

Podcasts

Please join us, as we would like to share our motivation behind this project with you.